Facebook


Facebook has made changes to their policies. They have long had agreements with various marketing concerns to provide some of our information. However, they are now proceeding to sell our information, including personal data and preferences as well as email addresses. This has been done without notification. In addition, the Facebook security options have been made even more obscure and hidden beneath several layers of lists and pages.

This is not the first time that Facebook has demonstrated wanton disregard of it’s user’s privacy needs. For this reason, I have again, not only deactivated, but also deleted my account. There is a movement to have users delete their accounts and as I write there are over 1700 commitments to do so. For more information please look at http://www.quitfacebookday.com/ .  You may also find useful information at

http://www.readwriteweb.com/archives/more_web_industry_leaders_quit_facebook_call_for_o.php .

I have begun investigating other social networking options. The two that look most promising are Ning ( http://www.ning.com/ ) and The Diaspora Project. However, the latter will not “go live”  for at least three months. (Learn more about Diaspora project at http://www.joindiaspora.com/project.html .)

Facebook has structured this to be as difficult as possible, however I have found the instructions in Wikihow.

The following is an explanation of how to delete your account. This is taken from from that Wikihow page

  1. Copy and paste http://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account once you have logged on. This screen will present itself:
  2. 2

    Click “Submit” and follow instructions. There will be a simple password and a Captcha spam check to enter in.

  3. 3

    Do not login or connect with your Facebook account. You will receive an email saying that your account will be deleted in 14 days. Any interaction with the account during that period could prevent it from being deleted, so for 14 days:

    • do not try to login to your Facebook account; you may want to clear your browser cache and delete your cookies so that you don’t login inadvertently.
    • do not click the Facebook Share or Like button on any site you visit.
    • do not use Facebook Connect to login to or signup on any site (see Before You Start, above.)
  4. 4

    Wait and watch. At the end of 14 days, all of your posts, comments, info, etc., will be permanently made inaccessible on Facebook.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: